Welney Croft Cricket Club

Match Report

Away against Narborough on 25th September 2011

Fixtures, Results & links to reports
Players photos
(Season details, History, Records)

PresidentRay Kent
ChairmanJohn Loveday
SecretaryTony Smart
TreasurerTony Smart
CaptainJohn Loveday
contact details

Result: Lost by 133 runs Welney Croft: 117 (38.2 overs) Narborough: 250-7  (40 overs)

Narborough batted first and after opener P.Crisps’ departure, lbw to John Loveday in the second over, settled down to dominate Croft’s bowlers, with only Steve Saberton posing the occasional problems. Opener J.Coe top scored with 76 (8 x fours) before finally departing, again lbw, this time to Steve Revett in the 33rd over. No.6 bat N.King joined the affray and soon scattered the out fielders, scoring 72 (in 52 mins) including 4 sixes and 7 fours. All the home side kept the runs flowing throughout, closing the innings on exactly 250 in their allotted 40 overs – a tough run rate of 6.25 being set.

Steve Saberton 0 for 39, John Loveday 2 for 49, Gareth Kent 0 for 39, Paul Kaminski 3 for 56, Percy Bulsara 2 for 16.

After the tea interval opening pair Stephen Kent (17) and Duncan Hobbs (41*) started far too slowly before Kent was caught off T.Grass in the 11th over with only 27 on the board. Paul Kaminski (20) joined Hobbs to add a further 52 for the second wicket. At 81 for 2 wickets after 28 overs, the match was well out off Crofts reach and only Gareth Kent (12) batting No.7 offered any hope. N.King performed the “hat-trick” in his fourth over bowling all his victims – Ashley Inwood, Oliver Revett and Percy Bulsara, all for ‘ducks’. Throughout this batting collapse batsman of the year, opener Hobbs, carried his bat remaining unbeaten on 41 - a fine achievement!

This final match of the season ended in another heavy defeat after a recent improvement in form.

Duncan Hobbs 41 (5 x 4’s), Paul Kaminski 20 (1 x 4), Stephen Kent 17 (2 x 4’s), Gareth Kent 12 (2 x 4’s)

Team - John Loveday (captain), Stephen Revett, Neil Parkinson, Duncan Hobbs, Percy Bulsara, Steve Saberton, Gareth Kent, Stephen Kent, Ashley Inwood, Paul Kaminski, Oliver Revett.

previous match report © 2011 Website designed & maintained by Peter Cox (contact me)